Skip to Main Content

St. Joseph Nurses Named Legacy Awardees

Posted in: Accreditations

 St. Joseph Nurses Named Legacy Awardees

Two St. Joseph nurses are among the first nursing professionals to win a Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Nursing Legacy Award.   The accolade was created to recognize Brazos Valley nurses making a positive difference in the lives of their patients and community.

Matt Hoffman, a registered nurse from St. Joseph's stroke unit and Shenita Summers, a licensed vocational nurse who cares for surgical patients and those assigned to tower 3, received the award in April.  They are two of the four winners chosen from 50 nominees.

Summers was recognized for her compassionate, patient-centered care.  She was nominated by both a patient and a physician.

“When she takes care of one of my patients, I rest easy knowing that she will demonstrate remarkable compassion for the patient's needs," said Summers' physician nominator.  "Her positive approach to problem solving is contagious and encouraging to everyone on the floor (fellow medical professionals, patients, and family members). She tackles her job with a joyful spirit that seems to not leave any room for complaining.”

Summers' patient wrote, "She gave me a sense of peace in knowing my best health interests were being cared for AND made me feel like I was her only patient, when I KNEW better!"

Hoffman, a charge nurse at St. Joseph Regional's stroke unit, is a College of Nursing clinical teaching assistant and a doctoral student in the nursing program.  A graduate of the Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Nursing, he was nominated by a faculty member, in the Legacy category.

His nominator wrote, “The most important thing he does is give back in the form of mentoring current BSN students.  He coaches and teaches the students and continually demonstrates how nursing can always be about the humanness and dignity of our fellow human beings. Our students always walk away richer for having spent time learning from him.”

Other St. Joseph nominees honored include:

  • Patricia Baxter, RN, PACU, Compassion and Innovation
  • Karen Boone, RN, Director, Maternity Services and Pediatrics, Compassion and Leadership
  • Paula Day, RN, Oncology Services, Compassion
  • Mary Estes, RN, Telemetry Unit, Leadership
  • Tera Huffman, RN, Critical Care Clinical Coordinator, Compassion
  • Jeremy Noel, RN, Emergency Room, Compassion, Innovation and Leadership
  • Lorraine Price, RN, Critical Care Unit, Leadership
  • Beverly Welch, Director, Trauma Service Line, Compassion

We're incredibly proud of all of these excellent nurses!

Find a Doctor

Looking for a doctor? Perform a quick search by name or browse by specialty.

Learn the Stroke Facts